©2019 by LiaisoNZ. Proudly created with Wix.com

A multicultural country

New Zealand has been a land of immigration since its existence. New Zealanders come from different countries and cultures. Immigrants come mainly from the United Kingdom, the Pacific Islands, Asia and South Africa.

Each ethnic group retains and develops its own culture and values ​​in the New Zealand context.

New Zealand uses three official languages: English, Maori and Sign language. The first two suggest a real cultural hybridization at least in terms of language. Maori words like 'kia ora' (hello) and 'haere mai' (welcome) are part of everyday language. New Zealand is very commonly referred to as 'Aotearoa New Zealand', Aotearoa being the very poetic maori word meaning 'Land of the long white cloud'

Maori concepts, such as whanau (family) and mana (spiritual authority), are an integral part of the New Zealand system of thinking. The national identity, half Maori half pakeha (New Zealander of European origin) is well established.

Although according to the founding treaty (the Treaty of Waitangi) New Zealand is officially bi cultural, the presence of very large numbers of immigrants (although it is less the case on the South Island than the North Island) makes it globally very multicultural compared to many countries.

It retains however a very British stamp.

©2019 by LiaisoNZ. Proudly created with Wix.com

Un pays multiculturel

La Nouvelle-Zélande est une terre d'immigration depuis son existence. Les Néo-Zélandais sont issus de pays et de cultures divers. Les immigrants viennent principalement du Royaume-Uni, des îles du Pacifique, d’Asie et d’Afrique du sud. 


Chaque groupe ethnique conserve et développe sa propre culture et ses propres valeurs dans le contexte néo-zélandais. 
La Nouvelle-Zélande utilise trois langues officielles: l'Anglais, le Maori et la langue des signes. Les deux premières suggèrent un vrai métissage culturel au moins en matière de langue. Les mots maoris comme ‘kia ora’ (bonjour) et ‘haere mai’ (bienvenue) font partie du langage courant. La Nouvelle-Zélande est d'ailleurs communément appelée 'Aotearoa New Zealand',  'Aotearoa' étant un mot maori signifiant 'Pays du long nuage blanc'

Par ailleurs, les concepts maoris, tels que le whanau (famille) et le mana (autorité spirituelle) font partie intégrante du système de pensée néo-zélandais. L'identité nationale, mi maorie mi-pakeha (néo-zélandais d’origine européenne) est bien établie. 


Bien que selon le traité fondateur (le traité de Waitangi) la Nouvelle-Zélande est officiellement biculturelle, la présence de très nombreux immigrants (même si c'est moins le cas sur l'île Sud que l’île Nord) la rend globalement très multiculturelle par rapport à beaucoup de pays.

Elle garde cependant un cachet très britannique